Leadership TeamOperations TeamTeaching Staff

Leadership Team

Daniela Srini Vasan

Principal | Hiawatha Leadership Academy - Northrop

dvasan@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-462-2369

Daniela Srini Vasan is the founding principal of Hiawatha Leadership Academy-Northrop. Daniela speaks Spanish and French. She attended the University of Virginia and earned her Master's Degree in Education from Georgia State University. After graduating, she served as a Teach For America corps member in Atlanta, Georgia where she taught third and fifth grade. Daniela loves to spend time with her family, travel and experience new cultures, study languages, volunteer in the community, and explore the Twin Cities. One of the best parts about working at Hiawatha Academies is working with families and students every day.

Hattie Carvalho

Assistant Principal

hcarvalho@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-310-8025

Hattie Carvalho is the Director of Student Support Services for Hiawatha Academies. Prior to this role, she was the Assistant Principal at HLA-Morris Park, Special Education Coordinator, and a special education teacher with HLA. Hattie was a 2007 Teach For America corps member in Eastern North Carolina where she taught middle school. She then returned to her home state of Minnesota. She is excited to continue supporting HLA's students, teachers, and families as our scholars climb the mountain to college.

Operations Team

Diane Agudo

Office Assistant

dagudo@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-743-5825

Jaime Aguilar

Office Manager

jaguilar@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-455-4004

Kels Bruun-Bryant

Director of Operations | Hiawatha Leadership Academy - Northrop

kbruunbryant@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-730-3371

Natasha Villanueva

Operations Coordinator

nvillanueva@hiawathaacademies.org | Office: 612-455-4033 | Mobile: 612-267-2286

Teaching Staff

Charise Powell

Fourth Grade Teacher

cpowell@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-578-0112

Chris Vaughan

Fourth Grade English Language Development Teacher

cvaughan@hiawathaacademies.org | 413-281-1268

Ellen Bluhm

Special Education Teacher

ebluhm@hiawathaacademies.org


Jessica Damsgard

Katie Cooney

Special Education Coordinator

kcooney@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-743-8721

Kayann Comeaux

Special Education Teacher

kcomeaux@hiawathaacademies.org

Natalie Ripley

Kindergarten English Language Development Teacher

nripley@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-267-2117

Robertha Weil

Sheila Wilson

Second Grade Teacher

swillson@hiawathaacademies.org | 612-807-4695

Theresa Ahles

English Language Development Teacher

tahles@hiawathaacademies.org